Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Disclaimer: This is not a DIY blog. I could never pretend to be as thrifty and handy as those who have made entire careers out of taking on their own home projects.

I did, however, take on a quick afternoon project after seeing an Instagram post from @DouglasCDavis (Doug Davis, Interior Designer at Hannon Douglas Interiors in Birmingham, AL http://www.hannondouglas.com). At some point, I will post a collection of images from all my favorite Instagram users… it is a great source for inspiration.

His post:

source Doug Davis @douglascdavis

source Doug Davis @douglascdavis

Isn’t his fireplace striking? The crisp, painted brick allows the architectural detail to stand out.

My own fireplace has been a thorn in my side since we moved into our new house last spring. It is a spanish-inspired stucco built in 1938, that needed A LOT of love. The previous owners did just about everything they could to strip the home of its original spanish details (including installing this generic mantle). I have drawn out plans to completely re-design the fireplace to better complement the architecture, but that project is not within reach at the moment.

I needed a quick fix for the meantime, and seeing Doug’s picture gave me the motivation I needed. I already had some leftover trim paint (Crisp White Linen) and a brush, so no material run needed. Two coats of paint. The whole project took about an hour.

Before:

Before

During:

During

After:

After

I styled with our family’s holiday decor that was already out and hand-picked some twigs from the yard to add texture. Additionally, I removed the screen and placed some perfectly cut wood logs inside draw your eye to the depth of the fireplace. It is very easy to layer decor on and around your fireplace to make it the focal point of your room.

While this still is not fireplace I dream of for our little, Spanish charmer, it is definitely an improvement and fine for now. If only we knew how to build a fire 😉

I have included some fireplaces that inspire me for a future renovation…

Spanish Style via House Beautiful

Beautiful Homes Designs Secrets of Segreto ShireeSegerstrom Interior Design

Rustic Hearth

